Birth, Death & Marriage records are deemed “Vital Records” and are not public records. Whiteside County has Birth and Death records back to 1878 and Marriage records back to 1839. To obtain a vital record, you can come into the office, order through the mail or you can order records online, click "Vital Records Online" above. Information for each record is detailed below.
Certified copies of birth records are available, upon written request, only to the individual named on the Certificate, to the parents or legal guardian (proof of guardianship required), to the legal representative of the individual to whom the record relates, or upon court order. The cost of a certified copy is $10.00. Additional Copies purchased at the same time are $6.00 each. We also require a photo ID or two other forms of ID.
Certified copies of Death records are available, upon written request, to blood relatives of the individual named on the certificate, to persons with a personal or property right interest, to the legal representative of any of the aforementioned persons or upon order of the court. Certified copies are available for $14.00. Additional copies purchased at the same time are $10.00 each. We also require a photo ID or two other forms of ID.
Certified marriage records are available upon written request and a fee of $10.00. Additional copies purchased at the same time are $6.00 each. We also require a photo ID or two forms of ID.
All other records in the office are public records and certified copies of most are available for a fee of $1.00 for the first page plus $.25 for each additional page of that same document.
Genealogists may have access to the indexes of Vital Records prior to 1916 and may obtain copies of Birth records older than 75 years and Death records older than 20 years. Fees are the same as listed above and records will be stamped “FOR GENEALOGY ONLY”. A non-certified copy can also be issued, upon request, for a fee of $8.00. We also require a picture ID or two forms of ID.
**Please note** Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regarding Vital Records. Under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to birth, death or marriage certificates. The Whiteside County Clerk’s Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. To do otherwise is a violation of Illinois Law. Vital Records are not considered public information, nor are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.