Upcoming Events

Show Full Calendar

Election Information

2020 Whiteside County Elections & Voters Information Site

New, Modern & Easier to Navigate - Same information as below


For Information on Verify Registration, Voter Registration, Elderly & Disabled Voters, Polling Places, Election Results, Election Dates, Election Judges, Election Maps

pdf March 17, 2020 Democratic Specimen Ballot  (634 KB)            

pdf March 17, 2020 Republican Specimen Ballot (528 KB)


Election Authority

Whiteside County has one "Election Authority." All elections and voter registration are conducted through this office. Whenever you hear the term "Election Authority" it refers to the Whiteside County Clerk. The office of your County Clerk is as Follows:

Dana Nelson
Whiteside County Clerk
200 E. Knox Street
Morrison, IL 61270
Phone: 815-772-5189

Within Whiteside County each unit of government has its own "Local Election Official". This Election Official is the Clerk or Secretary of the unit. When running for office in a particular unit of government, or when submitting petitions for referendum within that unit, it is done thru the Local Election Official. Candidates running for County Office file their petitions with the County Clerk. County-wide referendum petitions are also filed with the County Clerk. Multi-County or State Candidates will file with the State Board of Elections in Springfield.


You must be registered at your current address in order to vote. Polls on election day are open from, 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Your precinct name and number is shown on your voter registration card. You will vote at the same location for every election. If you need assistance in determining your polling place, call the County Clerk's office at 815-772-5189.

If you are not registered OR not at your correct address, before the February 18, 2020 deadline to get registered, voters can come to our office anytime before or on election day; register/make corrections and vote a full ballot. 

Early Voting

Voters can cast a ballot prior to Election Day without having a reason or an excuse for wanting to vote early. The law prohibits a person who voted during the early voting period from voting at the polls on Election Day. The votes cast during the early voting period will not be counted until after the polls close on Election Day. 

The first day to vote early is Thursday February 6, 2020 and the last day for early voting is Monday March 16, 2020 in the County Clerk's office from 8:30am - 4:30pm. 

We will be in Sterling at the Eastern Branch Courthouse 101 E Third St. Sterling, IL for voting on March 4, 5 & 6, 2020 from 9:00am-4:00pm each day.

Saturday Voting in Morrison ONLY March 7 & 14, 2020  from 9:00 am - 12:00pm (noon).

Grace Voting

If you missed the February 18, 2020 deadline to get registered for this election, you can register AND you will have to vote the same day in the County Clerk's Office, 200 E. Knox St. Morrison, IL during normal business hours 8:30-4:30.  You will need to bring with you 2 forms of identification, one must have your current name and address. That could include driver's license, pieces of mail, insurance card, check book, etc. Grace Voting will continue during the election Tuesday March 17, 2020 from 6:00am - 7:00pm.

Saturday Voting in Morrison ONLY March 7 & 14, 2020 from 9:00 am - 12:00pm (noon).

Vote by Mail

A registered voter may also vote by mail ballot (absentee). Voters can print off and mail in an Application For Vote By Mail Ballot.   

The last day we can receive a mailed or phone request for a ballot is Thursday March 12, 2020.  Vote by Mail is a two part process. The first is calling our office to request an application at 815-772-5189 or printing off and sending in an Application for a ballot.  Once we receive the signed application from the voter, we will mail the ballot to you.  You vote and return through the mail to our office.


Vote by Mail Ballots will be processed each day at 10:00 a.m. in the County Clerk's Office, 200 E. Knox St., Morrison, IL.

The ballots will not be counted until after the polls close on Election Day.

Vote by Mail Ballots uncounted:

Ballots returned, not counted: 

Vote by mail ballots sent and not returned: